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How to Sell for $10,000,000

🔥 This Week’s Agency Insight
From Jordan Ross @ 8 Figure Agency
February, 11th 2024
I can make the average entrepreneur into a millionaire or decamillionaire
They just have to follow my proven system that helps business owners sell their company for top dollar rather than trying to figure things out on their own
Fortunately, I’m spelling the system out for you today
How to Sell for $10,000,000
Context:
Last week I sat down with a portfolio owner who is acquiring an agency right now
We were reviewing the deal he is currently (attempting) to invest in
The deal is a good one with massive upside but also has a slim margin for failure
Here is everything you need to know on how we (investors) look at businesses to assess if we should invest:
Weekly Insight
1- Service, profit, numbers
When I began asking the investor about his investment, I asked a series of high-level questions to understand if this is a good business or not
These questions will be asked of your business too
Here are all the (first round of) questions I asked that you MUST have answers to if you want to max your exit valuation
What is this company doing in:
Revenue/mo?
Profit/mo?
Sales/mo?
Avg sale price?
Clients they lose/mo?
Churn %?
Here is what my answers were about this business:
Revenue/mo: $416k
Profit/mo: $166k
Profit margin:40%
Sales/mo: 15-20 new sales/mo
Avg sale price: $2500
Churn/mo: 5 clients
Churn %: 3.9% (this is best in class)
Initially, looking at these numbers, this looks like a VERY good business to acquire
After the initial round of questions, if you pique an investor, they will go deeper
Here is why this is looking like a good business deal from a high level (before I go deeper)
Churn
This churn is best in class
Doing anything at or less than 5%/mo in churn is elite
Margins
This business has HEALTHY margins, meaning good long-term ROI for an investor
Sales
This business is consistently bringing in 3x-4x more closed business/mo than it churns
2 Diving Deeper- Learning about the story
Once an investor piques their interest, they are going to want to know the story of the company
They want to understand how these numbers are the way they are and why they make sense
Here is what I asked next:
What service do they offer?
What industry do they sell to?
Why is churn best in class?
Who does the sales?
Here is what I learned:
Lead generation & google ads
Local businesses that need Google for leads
The founder built a best-in-class system- it's a black box that clients can't even look into
They sign up, stop talking to the founder, and then get leads within 30 days
The founder does about 13-18 sales/month currently and one sales rep does about 2 deals per month
My reactions:
Their fulfillment systems are dope
I love their offer due to it being value-based
I don't love that the founder is doing all the sales- this is a big risk for acquiring this company
From here, I began running numbers and math on a napkin
My napkin analysis led to many more questions
Before I dive in, I want to reiterate, that this is exactly what an investor will do for your business
Questions, analysis, more questions
3 Analysis & Insights
I run the MRR capacity formula to extrapolate the risks and upside of this business
This basically shows me what the ceiling of achievement is for a company and where the amount of new business per month will equal the churn per month
The formula is as follows:
(Sales/mo * avg price points)/Churn= MRR Cap
Here are their initial numbers:
(15*2500)/.039= $961,538.462—> On an annual basis, this means the company’s ceiling, if nothing changes, is $11.5M/Year
This means, that if this investor acquires the company and does NOTHING but maintain the trajectory, they will double the business
This immediately made me think: WINNING INVESTMENT
Now, I began extrapolating some numbers to identify risks in the company
Remember, the founder does all the sales, what happens if sales go down and churn goes up when he leaves?
Let's see
(10*2500)/.039=$641,025.641 * 12= $7.6M annually
(5*2500)/.039=$320,512.821* 12= $3.8M annually
Ok, new insight
The sales can drop a bit, down to 10 per month and the company will still grow
So that means as an investor, there is wiggle room for error
But if sales tank because we don’t solve for bringing in a new closer, we’re pretty fucked pretty quick
Insight and important note: we need to build a plan to ensure sales is good
Offer to founder: can build in an incentive offer for the founder to stick around and get a killer sales pro up and running before he leaves
More analysis
What if sales churn and churn increases?
(10*2500)/.05=$500,000 * 12= 6M/year
(5*2500)/.05=$250,000 * 12= 3M/year
Ok, so sales can drop a bit, but man, there is a SLIM margin of error for churn
If we move churn up 1.1%, the business can really be in a shitty scenario
Once the investor runs their analysis, they’ll have an understanding of where they need to focus on, potential upside, and potential risks with their business
Remember, your business is just a numbers game for them
It is not a passion project
If it's not a clear ROI move, they won't be in
So, a gentle reminder, remove all the passion, energy, blood, and sweat you put into your business
That doesn’t matter for valuation
4 More Questions
At this point, I was optimistic this would be a very good investment if churn could be maintained
Here is what I asked next
Is the founder involved in fulfillment?
Who runs fulfillment/ops?
Do they have any form of incentives?
What's your commission structure & plan?
What is LTV per account (I ran a calculation)?
Answer:
The founder is not involved in fulfillment (big win)
There is a head of ops that has run fulfillment for the last few years
He doesn't have any incentives, but the investors will provide him with some
The investors were still working commission structure & plan out
LTV by my calculations= 64k, the investor believed LTV= 50K
Here is what I began thinking of for the next stages of this business:
5- Strategy
At this point, as an investor, they are looking for easy wins for easy ROI on the company
When you’re going to sell, if you know these, you can even have these ready for the investment team and show them a path to how they can grow the business and get insane ROI, making your company investment very appealing
Here was my logic:
Run the math on one-time earning commission sales structure
15 deals/mo * $2500 commission (this is 5% of total LTV)= $37,500/mo in commission= $450k annual earnings
WOAH
We can attract the world's best sales pros
If this number increases, a sales rep can 600k/year
Ok, we’ll definitely be able to win at sales because we can afford to bring in the world's best sales professionals because financial incentives are there
Provide an incentive for the head of ops to stay with the business long-term
This won't be hard
The company earns 3M/year in profits
Increase price
I think it would be worth testing a price increase for this company
There were two types of businesses this company was working with
Lawyers
Contractors
We can definitely try increasing the price for the law firm niche and if successful, we could increase the business by 2M annually
Seems like a logical test that can yield some serious upside
Increase price marginally for every account
The business had close to 200 active accounts
If we go in and increase prices by 10%, adding $250/account, this company would make an extra 500k annually
That 1 move would definitely pay for the loan from the bank at a bare minimum
Something to keep in our back pocket
6- Assessment
This business was a rare find
The upside is epic
The churn seems very stable with the CEO not actually working on any accounts
The moves we can make to grow this are epic
Here are my takeaways I would encourage you to think about for your company when you’re ready to sell
Maximize your exit valuation by removing yourself from everything
Ops, sales, marketing
This founder could have earned 1.5 more potentially on his offer if he was removed from everything
This is the biggest reason founders receive 2x annual profits vs 4x or 5x when an offer is made
Know the napkin math
An investor will be running the numbers for your business
Don't make them, give it to them
Most entrepreneurs have their heads so far up their ass, it's sad but true
As an investor, it is highly appealing to work with someone who is a sophisticated business owner and knows their number
Think of the types of companies Mark Cuban invests in on shark tank
The same logic goes in investor life in the real world too
Have an insane fulfillment machine and team
The biggest reason this company was appealing was because of its churn numbers and its talent that can run the founders' systems
I talk about it a lot, but fulfillment truly is the most important part of your business
If that is shit, no one will invest
Come prepared to share what the low-hanging fruit and upside of the company are for an investor
If you know it, you can make it an easy item for them to tackle
If you know it too and aren’t pursuing it, they’ll need an explanation
Thanks for reading.
P.S Want to build an hands off, no stress profit generating agency?
Harness the power of processes, and systems to build a profit generating team that function with or without you. Click here to schedule a meeting
The 8F team will be ready to give you a free consultation.
Killer Content (My favorite pieces of content from last week):
Podcast: Ultimate: How Asa Burroughas Added $20,000 MRR to His Product Design Agency
Long Form Youtube: How To Calculate Your MRR Capacity (The Most Important Equation In Your Business)
Short Form Youtube: The Power of Strategic Outreach
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Stay Happy
Stay Hungry,
Jordan Ross
CEO & Founder @ 8 Figure Agency
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